Monday, May 30, 2011

C.S.Lakin's Map Across Time ~ Reviewed

Map Across Time:Gates of Heaven Series (The Gates of Heaven Series) [Paperback]
C. S. Lakin (Author)
Reading level: Young Adult
Paperback: 288 pages
Publisher: AMG Publishers (March 4, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 9780899578897


An ancient curse plagues the kingdom of Sherbourne, and unless it is stopped, all will fall to ruin. The King, obsessed with greed, cannot see the danger. But his teenage twin children, Aletha and Adin, know they must act. A hermit leads Adin to a magical map that will send him back in time to discover the origin of the curse. Once back, Adin must find the Keeper, who protects the Gate of Heaven, but all he has is a symbol as a clue to guide him. Unbeknown to Adin, Aletha follows her brother, but they both arrive in Sherbourne’s past at the precipice of a great war, and there is little time to discover how to counteract the curse.

One unexpected disaster after another forces the twins to make difficult choices. Adin’s only hope to correct the past is to return to the future to manipulate events so his quest can succeed. Through his trials and failures, Adin learns that nothing can stop heaven from accomplishing its goal, and that all events work for the good of those who trust heaven. An epic fairy tale with surprising twists, embracing the enduring power of love and faith.


The Map Across Time is the second of three novels in the Gates of Heaven series. Though without many connections to the previous book, The Wolf of Tebron, I found it engaging and full of excitement, and ultimately, better than its predecessor. The tale of twin royals, Aletha and Adin, in search of the mysterious firebird and the answers to lifting the curse on the kingdom of Sherbourne, is enthralling and a very worthwhile read. The two must make difficult choices in their actions, determine who to trust, as well as facing trials that may separate them forever. The many twists that are cleverly woven throughout, bring a whole new meaning to the word 'fairytale'. The closure of the novel left some confusion for me, but in a world where time-travel is possible, there is no real surprise that it is the case. I would suggest adding this book to your personal collection. How does it end? Only time will tell.

Reviewed by: EJ

1 comment:

Noah Arsenault said...

actually, there will be more than three books :) The fourth will be called The Unraveling of Wentwater and the fifth is just beginning to be written now.