Monday, April 17, 2017

Out of the Frying Pan by Michelle Griep and Kelly Klepfer ~ Reviewed

Michelle Griep and Kelly Klepfer
Paperback: 276
Publisher: Bling!
Language: English
USBN-10: 1938499131

When the chef of Sunset Paradise Retirement Village ends up dead, life for sisters Fern and Zula Hopkins is whipped into a froth. Their zany attempts to track down the killer land them in hot water with Detective Jared Flynn. Should he be concerned about their safety or the criminal's?

But there are deadly ingredients none of them expect. Drugs. Extortion. International cartels. And worst of all...broken hearts--especially when the Hopkins sisters' niece KC arrives on the scene.

Before the snooping pair gain any headway with the case, it becomes crystal clear that the sisters uncover a mysterious secret that takes life from the frying pan and into the line of fire.

Review:

For whenever you need a literal laugh-out-loud moment …

Out of the Frying Pan by Michelle Griep and Kelly Klepfer is a delightful cozy mystery with a bit of a sweet romance. The characters presented, from zany Zula and her roommate, Focused Fern to the handsome cop and niece caught between them, provide a perfect balance of humor and pragmatism, blending for an intriguing plot line that keeps one guessing on numerous levels.

Zula, the dumpster diving, flower saving sister-in-law/aunt is the Lucy Ricardo of the 21st century. Oh, the messes she gets herself in, from sneaking “stolen,” discarded plastic foliage into rusted old cars to stumbling upon a dead body. It’s no wonder her sister-in-law Fern lives in a perpetual state of exasperation. Zula was by far my favorite character, though Fern made her all the more delightful.

This is a fun story that will make you laugh on even your most melancholy of days, and the mystery was so skillfully presented, it will keep even the most skilled sleuths guessing.

Highly recommended.   


Reviewed by: Jennifer Slattery

Bonus Thoughts from Amazon Reviewers:

"A laugh out loud mystery with quirky, lovable characters who find themselves in all sorts of trouble. The storyline is believable and comes with descriptions of mouth-watering food, which makes for a delicious plot! A cohesive and fast-moving novel." 4-Stars! RT Book Reviews

“Out of the Frying Pan is a delicious cozy mystery! I loved the humor, the villain surprised me, and the main characters, Fern and Zula, are so richly drawn, they step off the pages and lead you on a merry chase. Masterfully written, it has all the elements of a great read: romance, murder, a dog, and humor. Did I mention the humor?” Ane Mulligan

“I loved this book. The authors, Michelle and Kelly, each writings from one of the two main character's viewpoint, developed a story line that was laugh out loud funny and entertaining. There are many minor characters, and together with the two main characters, they keep the pace moving quite fast while being believable. Scenes are well thought out and the setting, in a senior citizens neighborhood, gives a lot of twists and turns. There's murder, intrigue, romance, love, family relationships -- all written in a fun style. I can't wait for the next book in this series.” John Vonhof

“Who knew life in a seniors community could be so wild, suspenseful, and hilarious? Sisters-in-law Fern and Zula Hopkins are opposite in every way except age. How they keep from killing one another is a mystery, but that's not the mystery of this book. Their zany antics to solve the murder of the cook keeps detective Jared Flynn on his toes. Cozy mysteries are my favorite, and this one is good, with a twist ending that caught me by surprise (the best kind).”  Debra Butterfield

“Absolutely loved every word of Out of the Frying Pan! Having read other of Michelle Griep's work, I knew I was in store for a great story and Out of the Frying Pan did not disappoint. Quirky characters, high adventure. Can't ask for much more. I highly recommend this cozy little romance with a side of murder!” Deanne Davis


Sunday, April 02, 2017

Susan May Warren's Wild Montana Skies ~ Reviewed

Susan May Warren
Series: Montana Rescue (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Revell (October 18, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0800727436


Description: 

Search and rescue pilot Kacey Fairing is home on leave in Mercy Falls, Montana, twelve years after she joined the military to escape the mistakes of her past. With a job waiting for her as the new lead pilot of Peak Rescue in Glacier National Park, Kacey hopes to reconnect with the now-teenage daughter she sees only between deployments. What she doesn't realize is that someone else is also back in town.

Ben King has been building his country music career since the day Kacey shut him out of her life. Now all of that's on hold when his injured father calls him home to help run Peak Rescue until he's fully recovered. It doesn't take long, though, to discover his father's ulterior motives as Kacey Fairing walks into the house and back into his heart.

With Mercy Falls in a state of emergency due to flash floods, Kacey and Ben are forced to work together to save lives. But when floodwaters turn personal, can they put aside the past to save their future?

Review: 

Wild Montana Skies revolves around the home coming of Kacey Fairing and Ben King. They were high school sweethearts, who got pregnant at a young age and planned to get married. Due to unfortunate events and misunderstanding, Ben left right after the baby was born, and Kacey was left as a young, unwed mother. Kacey ended up joining the Air Force as a pilot and served several tours in Iraq, while Ben went on to Nashville to become a big Country Music Star. When horrible flash floods threaten their home town, they are both called home by Ben's dad, who runs PEAK Rescue in Glacier National Park. Not only does he hope to get their help, but he's hoping to reconnect them again.
I really enjoyed this book, and had a hard time putting it down. At first, I felt sorry for Kacey, thinking she'd been wronged by Ben, a young man scared of commitment. But then, after hearing Ben's side of the story, I felt bad for him as well, and the whole misunderstanding that kept them separated for so many years made me sad. But I enjoyed seeing how their faith was rekindled, as well as their love for each other. Great book, and I hope to be able to read the next one in the series.
Reviewed by: Sarah Meyers

Friday, March 24, 2017

Beth Vogt's Crazy Little Thing Called Love ~ Reviewed

CRAZY LITTLE THING CALLED LOVE 
Beth K. Vogt
  • Series: Destination Wedding
  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Howard Books (June 30, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1476789789


Description:
Wedding bells and storm clouds collide in the first engaging novel in a brand-new series about destination weddings, the power of love, and the possible mishaps and missteps that happen on a couple’s journey down the aisle to “I do.”

Paramedic Vanessa Hollister has put her adolescence behind her, including the unwanted label of being the new kid in town over and over again, thanks to her father’s military career. She’s overcome what her mother called “the biggest mistake of her life” and is planning an elegant destination wedding in Destin, Florida with her new fiancĂ©. But will the reappearance of her first husband from her what-were-you-thinking teenage elopement disrupt her dream of an idyllic beach wedding?

As a professional storm chaser, Logan Hollister is used to taking risks. However, a reckless decision during the last tornado season has him questioning the future of his team, the Stormmeisters. Coming face to face with his ex-wife eight years after their divorce compels him to confront his greatest regret: losing Vanessa. Does their past give him the right to interfere with her future?

A fast-moving, powerful hurricane throws Vanessa and Logan together as they evacuate to a storm shelter along with other residents of the Florida Gulf Coast. Forced to spend time together, the pair battles unexpected renewed feelings for each other.

Vanessa and Logan are faced with a choice: Should they accept, once and for all, their teenage marital mistake? Or is God offering them a second chance at happily ever after?

Review: 


Crazy Little Thing Called Love is part of The Destination Wedding Series. In this book, we follow Vanessa Hollister, a paramedic, and Logan Hollister, a professional storm chaser. They were high school sweethearts who married each other during their senior year of high school. However, after only two years of marriage, they divorced and never saw each other again. Here we are, eight years later, and Vanessa's current fiance, Ted, wants to plan a destination wedding in Destin, Florida, so he can attend a work conference at the same time. Vanessa has no desire to go back to the place where she met Logan, but Ted's practicality wins out. A freak accident on the beach brings her and Logan back together briefly. But when a major hurricane forces them to work together to save a life, they find that they fall back into their old patterns and habits, and struggle with the fact that they still care for each other.

This was a great book. I found myself getting upset with Vanessa for staying with a guy like Ted when there was a guy like Logan around that still loved her, even after all they had been through. You'll find yourself rooting for them from the moment they see each other again, despite the circumstances that tore them apart.

Reviewed by: Sarah Meyers

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Rachelle Dekker's The Returning ~ Reviewed

Nora from The Book Club Network is sharing her review with us today. 






THE BOOK CLUB NETWORK BLOG : LIKE FUTURISTIC DYSTOPIAN FICTION? CHECK THIS OUT...: The Returning By Rachelle Dekker Published by Tyndale ISBN#978-1-4964-0229-5 405 pages ABOUT BOOK: Twenty years have passed ...

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Becky Wade's Her One and Only ~ Reviewed

HER ONE AND ONLY 
Becky Wade
  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Bethany House Publishers (May 3, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0764211102


Description: 

Gray Fowler, star NFL tight end, is being pursued by a stalker, so his team hires a protection agency to keep Gray under the watch of a bodyguard at all times. When Gray meets Dru Porter, an agent assigned to him, he's indignant. How can an attractive young female half his size possibly protect him?

But Dru's a former Marine, an expert markswoman, and a black belt. She's also ferociously determined to uncover the identity of Gray's stalker. And she's just as determined to avoid any kind of romantic attachment between herself and the rugged football player with the mysterious past. But the closer they get to finding the stalker, the closer they grow to each other. As the danger rises, can Dru and Gray entrust their hearts--and their lives--to one another?

Review
Her One and Only
 is about an NFL Superstar, Gary Fowler, and Dru Porter, a former Marine who has been assigned as a bodyguard for Gary. Gary has been receiving death threats from a stalker, but hasn't taken the threats seriously. Dru is the youngest in a family of boys and has tried very hard her whole life to compete and be on an even keel with them. Gary doesn't appreciate having a woman as his bodyguard, but can't help being attracted to her. Despite his life of being a playboy, and despite her independent nature, they begin to develop feelings for each other, though Dru refuses to cross the line of a relationship with a client. She is determined to find his stalker and keep him safe before their relationship can continue. However, when they finally cross that client/employee line, she realizes she can no longer work for him. While this allows for them to try out a real relationship, it also exposes other problems and issues they each need to work on before they can commit to each other. 

This book was so good! I had a hard time putting it down! I really had no idea what was going to happen regarding the stalker situation, and had no idea of who the actual stalker was! The author did a wonderful job of keeping the suspense going, and keeping me engaged. This was a great book, and I hope to read more by this author!


Reviewed by: Sarah Meyers