Thursday, June 15, 2017

Just the Way You Are by Pepper Basham ~ Reviewed

Just the Way You Are
Pepper Basham
Series: A Pleasant Gap Romance
Paperback: 308 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (April 2, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 153969903X


Description: 

Single mom, Eisley Barrett, takes a vacation from her Blue Ridge Mountain "mom" life to travel to the English countryside in search of answers to an ancestral mystery. Burned by romance, she certainly isn't planning to stumble into her own fairy tale. Leading man and former rogue, Christopher Wesley Harrison is fighting to rebuild a new reputation after a tragedy introduced him to the power of redemption. His self-protective avoidance of romance crumbles at Eisley's two left feet and her authenticity send his heart into unscripted territory. When his past threatens to ruin their second chance at love, can some Appalachian matchmaking and letters from the grave salvage their unexpected romance?

Review: 

In addition to fun, adorable, and swoony story elements, Pepper Basham has a charming knack for creating families that readers adore. Just the Way You Are is a modern-day romance that has it all, humor, mystery, depth, extended family members, children, and exes, too… the author even incorporates a few scenes at the kitchen sink.

Thursday, June 08, 2017

The Imposter by Suzanne Woods Fisher ~ Reviewed

THE IMPOSTER 
Suzanne Woods Fisher
  • Series: The Bishop's Family (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Revell (October 6, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0800723201


Description: 

Katrina Stoltzfus thought she had life and love all figured out: she was going to marry John and live happily ever after. Those plans started to crumble when her father moved the family to Stoney Ridge, then completely collapsed when John decided to marry someone else. Katrina is devastated. How could she have felt so loved, yet been so deceived?

As she struggles to face a future without him, a widow asks for her help to start a new business and Katrina quickly agrees. She needs time to heal her broken heart, to untangle her messy life, to find a purpose. What she doesn't need is attention from Andy Miller, a farm hand who arrives at the widow's farm just when help is most needed--and who always seems to say the right thing, and be in the right place, at the right time. Is Andy
for real, or too good to be true? Deceived once before, Katrina is determined to keep her feelings in check. 

When a cascade of events is set in motion by some surprising information, the little Amish church is turned upside down. Soon, everyone has a stake in the outcome, and the community struggles to find the best response to an imposter in their midst. Can they forgive even the most deceitful deeds?

Bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher introduces her loyal fans to a brand-new series set in their favorite town--Stoney Ridge. As always, Fisher delivers endearing characters and plot twists that keep readers turning page after page after page.


Review:
Imposter
 is about a young Amish Woman named Katrina Stolzfus. Her life was going on just as planned, until her mother was killed in a buggy accident, and her boyfriend, John, suddenly broke up with her because he was engaged to someone else. When a local widow trying to start a Moss farm is in need of help, Katrina agrees, thinking it might give her something different to do to get her mind off of all that has happened. In the meantime, her father, a minister in town, is fighting his own battles against other ministers who are taking it into their own hands to make changes that may not be good for the community. Yet when David tries to stand up to them, he is threatened in a subtle way.

I really enjoyed this book. There was one turn of events that took me completely by surprise, and I can' t figure out if it was because I wasn't paying attention or the author did a great job of catching me off guard! Either way, I thought the story was well written. I especially liked David's character. He was always doing his best to trust in the Lord, and to be in the Word, learning more about the Lord. What a great example to his children and the community.


Reviewed by: Sarah Meyers

Friday, June 02, 2017

The Mark of the King by Jocelyn Green ~ Reviewed

by Jocelyn Green
  • File Size: 5019 KB
  • Print Length: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Bethany House Publishers (January 3, 2017)
  • Publication Date: January 3, 2017
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01M3P77NG


Back Cover: 

Life in This New World Requires More Strength Than She Ever Imagined
After the death of her client, midwife Julianne Chevalier is imprisoned and branded, marking her as a criminal beyond redemption. Hoping to reunite with her brother, a soldier, she trades her life sentence for exile to the fledgling French colony of Louisiana. The price of her transport, however, is a forced marriage to a fellow convict. 

New Orleans is nothing like Julianne expects. The settlement is steeped in mud and mosquitoes, and there is no news of her brother, Benjamin. When tragedy strikes, she turns to military officer Marc-Paul Girard for help, but does he know more about her brother than he will admit? 

With her dreams shattered, Julianne must find her way in this dangerous land, where only grace--and love--can overcome the stigma of the king's mark upon her shoulder.

Review: 

Readers, prepare to be completely captivated by this story… WOW!!! The rich cultures and customs from France to the dismal conditions across the sea in Louisiana are fascinating. However, it was the challenging experiences of the characters within this book are what kept me turning page after page long into the night and early morning!

Read the rest of the review (and author Q&A) HERE

Reviewed by: Beth Erin 

Thursday, June 01, 2017

Book Lover Alert

Brick and mortar seems to be merging and meshing into something a little more cloud like. As an author for a small publisher I am just fine with Amazon and the other on-line outlets. Honestly, the only book store I know that carries my book is Once Upon a Crime in Minnesota. (I highly recommend you go there for the smells and the squeaks and creaks, the delicious ambiance you can only find in an old building that is full of books! Someone needs to make an air freshener and call it old library!) 

Which brings me to my point. There is just something soul satisfying about an old book store or library. If you feel the same way, keep reading. You could become the new owner of a piece of fabulous history. 

If you are a book lover. Antique, vintage furniture lover. Word nerd.  You are going to want to start clicking.



Do you recognize this book cart? It is an antique book cart from the New York Public Library.  

Out of Print, the literary apparel and lifestyle brand based in New York, had fun refinishing it--cleaning it up without stripping it from its character.  Founders Todd Lawton and Jeff LeBlanc did some research on the cart and contacted the manufacturer--still in business


Out of Print is hosting a giveaway: an antique book cartnine galleys from Penguin Random House and a $100 gift card to shop at www.outofprintclothing.com.

Go here and win a piece of the library for your home! 

https://www.outofprintclothing.com/pages/library-book-truck-giveaway

Sunday, May 21, 2017

Count Me In by Mikal Dawn ~ Reviewed

Mikal Dawn
ebook: 217
Publisher: 121 Publishing House
Language: English
USBN-10: BO713RQHQ7

Description: 

*This is a romantic comedy with a Christian worldview.

Allegra Spencer has been living a careful life. Her safe job as an accountant is bookended by going to church and the gym. Okay, sometimes the gym. Fine. She goes to church. And the coffee shop. She avoids risk at all cost, preferring to stay safe in her cozy condo. Until her accounting firm goes belly up and she's out of a job.

Tyler Hawk had a glorious career as a star NFL tight end. He retired on a high note and now lives a second dream of owning his own business and leading others on extreme outdoor adventures. But he needs help with his books--and his heart. When Allegra takes the job, sparks fly.

It's a case of safety zone versus danger zone, and in their minds, never the two shall meet.



Review:

When I learned this sweet and hilarious story was set in Seattle, I knew I wanted to read it. The theme of a security-loving account with a safety bubble about a mile wide who’s thrown into one adventure of another intrigued me. Interesting enough, I learned of this novel’s upcoming release around the same time my adult daughter chose to go parasailing—and invited me to join her. My response was quick and certain—No! In other words, I could relate to poor Allegra, and I felt her anxiety intensely, as she soared high above the ground. The fact that she was tethered to a sigh-worthy hero, however, made the experience appear at least somewhat enjoyable.

This was a unique, light-hearted read that provided me with numerous chuckles at the end of rather busy and stressful days. I recommend this novel for those looking for a clean, God-honoring romance that celebrates forever love.


Reviewed by: Jennifer Slattery

Thursday, May 11, 2017

What Matters Most ~ Kellie Coates Gilbert ~ Reviewed



WHAT MATTERS MOST
Kellie Coates Gilbert
Series: Texas Gold Collection
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Revell (July 5, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0800722752

Back Cover

Just when she can't take it anymore, Leta finally catches a break. But when things seem too good to be true, they often are.

Finding her dream job went right out the window when Leta Breckenridge had to quit school to help care for her mother suffering from dementia. When a delinquent account may force her mother into a less desirable facility, Leta is thrilled to land a high-paying job at an Austin public relations firm. But her seemingly ideal job turns into a nightmare when she learns the firm is a front for a political opposition organization--and that the research she's been collecting will be used against Nathan Emerson, the handsome senator she's swiftly falling in love with.

Nathan is a rising political star being pressured to run a bid to unseat the current governor of Texas. He's already in a relationship with a woman much better suited to be a politician's wife, but he's never met anyone like Leta. Could this feisty woman hold the key to his heart--and his future?

With emotional depth and keen insight into what drives us, Kellie Coates Gilbert offers a salient story that calls us to consider what we value most in this life.


Review:

What Matters Most is about a young woman named Leta Breckenridge. She had to quit school to take on several jobs to pay for her mother's care in an assisted living facility, as her mother suffers with dementia. While leaving one of her jobs run night, she literally runs into Nathan Emerson, whom later finds out is a senator who is running for the office of governor. There is an instant attraction between the two, but neither really thinks anything of it. In the meantime, Leta manages to land a dream job with a company doing research, which enables her to keep paying for her mother's care. Little does she realize the companies true motives in research – being paid by politicians to find “dirt” on opponents. Leta doesn't realize this at first, and in the meantime, keeps running into Nathan. As her relationship with Nathan develops, so does the intensity of her job, as she realizes she is being paid six figures a year to try to ruin Nathan's career. Her conscious wins out over the need for money and she quits her job, but she highly underestimates the people she's been working for and the actions that they will take.

I really liked Nathan's character in particular in this book. In this day and age, we are so sick of politics and the fact that we don't feel like we can trust any of them. But Nathan was on the up and up, and is someone I would vote for. His character stayed flawless through the whole story. And I liked that Leta stayed true to what she knew was right instead of getting sucked into a bad job just for the money.

Reviewed by: Sarah Meyers

Tuesday, May 02, 2017

Ben-Hur by Carol Wallace ~ Reviewe

Editor Note: I get so many books, far more than I can read and review, or pass on to others to read and review for me. So every once in awhile, I borrow great reviews on great books. Today Nora St Laurent shares her review link with us. 


Ben Hur by Carol Wallace
  • Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.; Mti edition (July 19, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1496411064

Book Description: 

As one of the bestselling stories of all time, Lew Wallace’s Ben-Hur: A Tale of the Christ has captivated and enthralled millions around the world―both in print and on the big screen. Now Lew’s great-great-granddaughter has taken the old-fashioned prose of this classic novel and breathed new life into it for today’s audience.

Coming to theaters in August 2016 as Ben-Hur, a major motion picture from MGM and Paramount studios, the story follows Judah Ben-Hur, a Jewish nobleman whose childhood friend Messala betrays him. Accused of trying to murder the new Roman governor in Jerusalem, Judah is sentenced to the galley ships and vows to seek revenge against the Romans and Messala. But a chance encounter with a carpenter from Nazareth sets Judah on a different path.

Rediscover the intrigue, romance, and tragedy in this thrilling adventure.

Also included: the inspiring story-behind-the-story of Lew Wallace―Indiana lawyer, author, and Civil War general.


Review: