Saturday, July 15, 2017

Dawn Ford's Knee High Lies ~ Reviewed

Dawn Ford
ebook: 289 pages
Publisher: Splickety Publishing Group
Language: English
  • ASIN: B072TMXH5X

Back cover text:

What happens when the lies you tell grow so high you can’t see the truth?

To the outside world Avery Denton’s life looks happy, normal even. But it isn’t. Not even close. She believes nothing can make it worse. When her mother skips town with their banker, the small-town gossips focus on her. 

Jaxson Stewart, Avery’s neighbor and friend, has had a crush on her for years. She makes his heart race, which is dangerous for a boy with a heart condition. Unlike their community, he refuses to hold her mother’s actions against her.

Avery’s summer heats up when Jaxson kisses her under a star lit sky. The rest of her life boils over, though, when Avery becomes the target of revenge, her alcoholic father’s anger escalates, and long-hidden family secrets come to light. 

Can Avery find strength in the truth? Or will she continue to struggle through knee-high lies? 

Review:

This book tugged on my heartstrings big-time. Dawn’s dynamic and authentic characters and deep storyline caused me to feel every emotion, sometimes in rapid succession. I laughed, I cried, I got more than a little angry—a few times. Though this novel was written for young adults, the story will draw all readers in. And I believe, in reading about Avery, a teenager living in chaos in a town filled with judgment and, seemingly, perfect families, readers can catch a glimpse into what life may be like for the hurting teens among us.

I loved Avery. I felt for her. She was timid, insecure, and yet incredibly strong. She weathered what would cause many to break. There were times when her situation seemed hopeless, but I loved how Dawn brought it all back around. The ending was perfect, the romance interwoven in the story adorable and sweet, and the message of grace and healing and inner strength came through clear.

In other words, I loved this book and am certain you will to. I can’t wait to read more from this gifted, slightly gritty, utterly authentic writer.   

Reviewed by: Jennifer Slattery

Friday, July 07, 2017

Butterflies on Breezes by Valerie Comer ~ Reviewed

by Valerie Comer
  • Series: Urban Farm Fresh Romance
  • Paperback: 254 pages
  • Publisher: GreenWords Media (September 28, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1988068150

Description: 

From a USA Today bestselling author!
Like a butterfly on a summer breeze, Love rarely lands where it’s expected. Working for her dad’s landscaping business stifles Linnea Ranta. When she’s invited to design and build a community garden with an intriguing master carpenter, she seizes the chance to unfurl her wings, but at what expense to her heart? 
Logan Dermott eases back his flirting when he senses Linnea’s fragility, but she has more backbone than he suspected. As they work together, Logan finds he’s falling for her, but it may be too late to win her love. 
Will Linnea break free of her chrysalis and fly away before Logan realizes what he almost had?

Review: 

I adore this fictional small town community within the big city of Spokane! United by proximity, a new community center, and a cozy-sized church, this neighborhood is graced with the intimate charm of a matchmaking grandma figure and nonstop 3-on-3 basketball. Keep reading Beth Erin's review http://www.faithfullybookish.com/review/butterflies-on-breezes-by-valerie-comer/ 

Monday, June 26, 2017

Jane of Austin by Hillary Manton Lodge ~ Reviewed


By Hillary Manton Lodge
Published by Waterbrook
ISBN#978-1-6042-934-6
315 Pages

ABOUT BOOK: Just a few years after their father’s business scandal shatters their lives, Jane and Celia Woodward find themselves forced out of their San Francisco tea shop. The last thing Jane wants is to leave their beloved shop on Valencia Street, but when Celia insists on a move to Austin, Texas, the sisters pack up their kid sister Margot and Jane’s tea plants, determined to start over yet again.

But life in Austin isn’t all sweet tea and breakfast tacos. Their unusual living situation is challenging and unspoken words begin to fester between Jane and Celia. When Jane meets and falls for up-and-coming musician Sean Willis, the chasm grows deeper.

While Sean seems to charm everyone in his path, one person is immune – retired Marine Captain Callum Beckett. Callum never meant to leave the military, but the twin losses of his father and his left leg have returned him to the place he least expected—Texas.

In this modern spin on the Austen classic, Sense and Sensibility, the Woodward sisters must contend with new ingredients in unfamiliar kitchens, a dash of heartbreak, and the fragile hope that maybe home isn't so far away

REVIEW: This author beautifully brings together a heartfelt story of three sisters whose lives are suddenly shattered by an unexpected chain of events. News travels fast of their father’s business scandal and they are forever identified with his disgrace. Their lease is up on their tea salon in San Francisco. They are unable to find an affordable place so they seek a new location and move in Austin, Texas. The girls are looking for a fresh start and to reconnect with family members on their mother’s side.

Continue Reading Nora St Laurent’s Review

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Waterbrook  Publishers.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Just the Way You Are by Pepper Basham ~ Reviewed

Just the Way You Are
Pepper Basham
Series: A Pleasant Gap Romance
Paperback: 308 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (April 2, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 153969903X


Description: 

Single mom, Eisley Barrett, takes a vacation from her Blue Ridge Mountain "mom" life to travel to the English countryside in search of answers to an ancestral mystery. Burned by romance, she certainly isn't planning to stumble into her own fairy tale. Leading man and former rogue, Christopher Wesley Harrison is fighting to rebuild a new reputation after a tragedy introduced him to the power of redemption. His self-protective avoidance of romance crumbles at Eisley's two left feet and her authenticity send his heart into unscripted territory. When his past threatens to ruin their second chance at love, can some Appalachian matchmaking and letters from the grave salvage their unexpected romance?

Review: 

In addition to fun, adorable, and swoony story elements, Pepper Basham has a charming knack for creating families that readers adore. Just the Way You Are is a modern-day romance that has it all, humor, mystery, depth, extended family members, children, and exes, too… the author even incorporates a few scenes at the kitchen sink.

Thursday, June 08, 2017

The Imposter by Suzanne Woods Fisher ~ Reviewed

THE IMPOSTER 
Suzanne Woods Fisher
  • Series: The Bishop's Family (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Revell (October 6, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0800723201


Description: 

Katrina Stoltzfus thought she had life and love all figured out: she was going to marry John and live happily ever after. Those plans started to crumble when her father moved the family to Stoney Ridge, then completely collapsed when John decided to marry someone else. Katrina is devastated. How could she have felt so loved, yet been so deceived?

As she struggles to face a future without him, a widow asks for her help to start a new business and Katrina quickly agrees. She needs time to heal her broken heart, to untangle her messy life, to find a purpose. What she doesn't need is attention from Andy Miller, a farm hand who arrives at the widow's farm just when help is most needed--and who always seems to say the right thing, and be in the right place, at the right time. Is Andy
for real, or too good to be true? Deceived once before, Katrina is determined to keep her feelings in check. 

When a cascade of events is set in motion by some surprising information, the little Amish church is turned upside down. Soon, everyone has a stake in the outcome, and the community struggles to find the best response to an imposter in their midst. Can they forgive even the most deceitful deeds?

Bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher introduces her loyal fans to a brand-new series set in their favorite town--Stoney Ridge. As always, Fisher delivers endearing characters and plot twists that keep readers turning page after page after page.


Review:
Imposter
 is about a young Amish Woman named Katrina Stolzfus. Her life was going on just as planned, until her mother was killed in a buggy accident, and her boyfriend, John, suddenly broke up with her because he was engaged to someone else. When a local widow trying to start a Moss farm is in need of help, Katrina agrees, thinking it might give her something different to do to get her mind off of all that has happened. In the meantime, her father, a minister in town, is fighting his own battles against other ministers who are taking it into their own hands to make changes that may not be good for the community. Yet when David tries to stand up to them, he is threatened in a subtle way.

I really enjoyed this book. There was one turn of events that took me completely by surprise, and I can' t figure out if it was because I wasn't paying attention or the author did a great job of catching me off guard! Either way, I thought the story was well written. I especially liked David's character. He was always doing his best to trust in the Lord, and to be in the Word, learning more about the Lord. What a great example to his children and the community.


Reviewed by: Sarah Meyers

Friday, June 02, 2017

The Mark of the King by Jocelyn Green ~ Reviewed

by Jocelyn Green
  • File Size: 5019 KB
  • Print Length: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Bethany House Publishers (January 3, 2017)
  • Publication Date: January 3, 2017
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01M3P77NG


Back Cover: 

Life in This New World Requires More Strength Than She Ever Imagined
After the death of her client, midwife Julianne Chevalier is imprisoned and branded, marking her as a criminal beyond redemption. Hoping to reunite with her brother, a soldier, she trades her life sentence for exile to the fledgling French colony of Louisiana. The price of her transport, however, is a forced marriage to a fellow convict. 

New Orleans is nothing like Julianne expects. The settlement is steeped in mud and mosquitoes, and there is no news of her brother, Benjamin. When tragedy strikes, she turns to military officer Marc-Paul Girard for help, but does he know more about her brother than he will admit? 

With her dreams shattered, Julianne must find her way in this dangerous land, where only grace--and love--can overcome the stigma of the king's mark upon her shoulder.

Review: 

Readers, prepare to be completely captivated by this story… WOW!!! The rich cultures and customs from France to the dismal conditions across the sea in Louisiana are fascinating. However, it was the challenging experiences of the characters within this book are what kept me turning page after page long into the night and early morning!

Read the rest of the review (and author Q&A) HERE

Reviewed by: Beth Erin 

Thursday, June 01, 2017

Book Lover Alert

Brick and mortar seems to be merging and meshing into something a little more cloud like. As an author for a small publisher I am just fine with Amazon and the other on-line outlets. Honestly, the only book store I know that carries my book is Once Upon a Crime in Minnesota. (I highly recommend you go there for the smells and the squeaks and creaks, the delicious ambiance you can only find in an old building that is full of books! Someone needs to make an air freshener and call it old library!) 

Which brings me to my point. There is just something soul satisfying about an old book store or library. If you feel the same way, keep reading. You could become the new owner of a piece of fabulous history. 

If you are a book lover. Antique, vintage furniture lover. Word nerd.  You are going to want to start clicking.



Do you recognize this book cart? It is an antique book cart from the New York Public Library.  

Out of Print, the literary apparel and lifestyle brand based in New York, had fun refinishing it--cleaning it up without stripping it from its character.  Founders Todd Lawton and Jeff LeBlanc did some research on the cart and contacted the manufacturer--still in business


Out of Print is hosting a giveaway: an antique book cartnine galleys from Penguin Random House and a $100 gift card to shop at www.outofprintclothing.com.

Go here and win a piece of the library for your home! 

https://www.outofprintclothing.com/pages/library-book-truck-giveaway