Sunday, January 27, 2008

Leanna Ellis' Elvis Takes a Back Seat ~ Reviewed

Book Description:

Elvis Takes a Back Seat by award-winning novelist Leanna Ellis is the endearing story of Claudia, a young widow determined to fulfill her husband’s last request by hauling a three-foot bust of Elvis Presley in the backseat of a vintage Cadillac from Dallas to Memphis to return it to its rightful owner. The road trip—taken with an eccentric aunt who actually knew the “King of Rock ’n’ Roll,” and a temperamental teen with a suspicious mind of her own—hits some royal roadblocks and detours as these women uncover pieces of their past along with the bust’s mysterious history. What they find along the way changes their lives forever, inspiring readers to also step out in faith.

My Review:

This review will a little ambiguous because I so do not want to ruin this read for anyone.

"Elvis" is poignant, charming, difficult and full of hope. Faith is handled honestly and with dignity. Relationships are discovered, dissected and bathed in all the shades of love. Pain is multi layered and realistic.

The writing is compelling and tight. The characters are people I'd like to meet. Heavy subjects like life, death and faith are handled with grace.

A Christian novel steeped in all of the aspects of faith, "Elvis" will likely be in my top reads for 2008. I recommend it for readers of heavy, hopeful fiction. Fans of Karen Kingsbury and Annette Smith's "A Bigger Life" should find "Elvis" satisfying. I also suggest "Elvis" to those who struggle with faith and don't want to give up belief but need a little help with the details.

Review by: Kelly Klepfer

No comments: